HerWellReport Independent Women’s Health Research

Bladder & Pelvic Health

Cystex Review (2026): The Cranberry Dose It Won’t Disclose

Woman at a kitchen table looking at her phone with a cup of tea and notebook nearby, researching before a purchase

HerWellReport is reader-supported. We have not tested or used any product named here. This is general information, not medical advice — see our affiliate disclosure and medical disclaimer.

Cystex is one of the few urinary-health brands you can actually put your hands on — on the shelf at Walmart, CVS and most grocery pharmacies for single digits. That makes it the default purchase for a lot of women who have had a bad night and want something before the doctor’s office opens on Monday.

But “Cystex” is not one product. It is a brand name stretched across three completely different regulatory categories, and buying one when you wanted another is an easy mistake. So let’s separate them first.

Which Cystex are you actually holding?

Clarion Brands lists six products under the Cystex name,5 in three groups with almost nothing in common beyond the box design. (Short on time? Skip to our alternative.)

  • Dietary supplements. The Cranberry Urinary Health Supplement caplets, the Urinary Health Maintenance cranberry-prebiotic liquid, and the Urinary Probiotic capsules — food-law products, not assessed for efficacy, carrying the standard line that the statements “have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.”5
  • An over-the-counter analgesic combination. Cystex Urinary Pain Relief tablets (historically Cystex Plus) contain methenamine 162 mg and sodium salicylate 162.5 mg.6 This is a drug, not a supplement.
  • A urinary analgesic dye. Cystex Max Strength UTI Pain Relief is phenazopyridine hydrochloride 99.5 mg4 — a different molecule again.

A Cystex PM tablet (acetaminophen and diphenhydramine) and UTI test strips round out the line.7 If you came here asking whether a daily cranberry pill will cut your recurrences, only the first group is relevant.

What’s on the supplement panel — and what isn’t

Cystex publishes its supplement facts, which is more than many shelf brands manage. The cranberry caplets, two daily, provide vitamin C 60 mg, calcium 110 mg, Vaccinium macrocarpon fruit 500 mg and Bacillus coagulans 7 mg.1

The liquid is vaguer: one tablespoon daily gives vitamin C 90 mg plus an 800 mg “proprietary blend” of cranberry concentrate, D-mannose, inulin and bromelain — four ingredients sharing one number, no individual doses.2 CVS calls the same bottle a “proprietary Proantinox formula (patent pending).”20 The Urinary Probiotic capsule has 250 mg whole cranberry fruit extract, 15 mg PreforPro prebiotic and 1 billion CFU Bacillus subtilis DE111.3

Here is the gap: not one panel states a proanthocyanidin figure. We checked Cystex’s product pages, its brand page and the Walmart and CVS listings, and found no PAC quantity anywhere.1231920 The trade name gestures at proanthocyanidins; the label never counts them. We cover the chemistry in our explainer on cranberry and urinary health.

Why PAC content is the number that matters

Proanthocyanidins — the A-type PACs fairly unique to cranberry — are the compounds thought to stop E. coli gripping the bladder wall. The NIH’s National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health describes that mechanism and adds a caveat most marketing skips: “processing cranberries into various products, like tablets or capsules, can reduce the concentration of PACs.”12 Milligrams of fruit tell you little about milligrams of active fraction.

The figure the research keeps landing on is 36 mg PAC per day. A four-country randomised crossover study in 32 women tested 18, 36 and 72 mg of PAC-standardised cranberry powder and found anti-adhesion activity rising with dose, with only 72 mg still active at 24 hours.14 A 2024 meta-analysis of ten randomised trials in 2,438 people then used 36 mg as the cut-point: at 36 mg or more daily, relative risk of UTI was 0.82 (95% CI 0.69 to 0.98, p=0.03), an 18% reduction; below 36 mg the effect was not statistically significant.13 Those authors note the accepted way to hit that target is the DMAC method against a procyanidin A2 standard, and that accuracy varies considerably between assays.13

But the “36 mg or nothing” line is overstated — and we should say so

We expected to write that 500 mg of unstandardised cranberry fruit is too little to do anything. The evidence does not let us.

A six-month randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition (2025) gave 150 women with recurrent UTI history 500 mg daily of whole cranberry fruit powder specified only as “>1.5% PAC by HPLC” — on its face well under 10 mg PAC a day. Culture-confirmed UTI incidence fell 52% versus placebo (adjusted relative risk 0.48, 95% CI 0.26 to 0.87, p=0.01). It was sponsored by the supplement’s maker, worth knowing, but properly controlled.17

So a low-PAC whole-fruit preparation at exactly the milligram load Cystex uses has produced a real result in a real trial. The honest conclusion is narrower than our starting thesis: the problem with Cystex’s cranberry products is not a proven underdose — it is that you cannot tell. With no PAC figure and no assay method, a buyer cannot know whether her bottle resembles the material that worked in the 2025 trial, the material that worked in the 36 mg trials, or neither. Two products both labelled “500 mg cranberry fruit” can differ severalfold in the fraction that matters — which is exactly NCCIH’s processing caveat.12

How good is the cranberry evidence, in total?

Better than sceptics assume, weaker than the packaging implies. The 2023 Cochrane review pooled 26 studies and 6,211 participants and found cranberry products reduced symptomatic, culture-verified UTI with a risk ratio of 0.70 (95% CI 0.58 to 0.84) at moderate certainty.11

The subgroups carry the nuance. For women with recurrent UTIs — the people most likely to be buying Cystex — it was RR 0.74 (95% CI 0.55 to 0.99): a real effect with an upper bound brushing 1.00. But in elderly institutionalised residents (RR 0.93, 0.67 to 1.30), pregnant women (RR 1.06, 0.75 to 1.50) and people with neuromuscular bladder dysfunction (RR 0.97, 0.78 to 1.19), no benefit was demonstrated at all.11 NCCIH puts the overall picture at roughly a 25% reduction in recurrent symptomatic UTIs in women, while stressing cranberry “isn’t recommended as a treatment for existing UTIs in any population.”12

This is not a fringe position clinically. The 2025 AUA/CUA/SUFU guideline on recurrent uncomplicated UTI in women states: “Clinicians should offer cranberry as an option for prophylaxis for women with rUTIs” — Moderate Recommendation, Evidence Level Grade B.15 The same guideline is cooler on D-mannose, one of the four ingredients in the Cystex liquid: Statement 14 says clinicians should inform patients that “D-mannose alone for prophylaxis may not be effective in UTI prevention.”15

That caution is worth putting in context, because the D-mannose evidence did not stay still — it moved backward. A smaller 2013 randomised trial found that 2 grams of D-mannose a day worked about as well as a low-dose antibiotic at preventing recurrent UTIs over six months, and that trial is still the one most D-mannose marketing leans on.22 But a much larger randomised trial published in JAMA Internal Medicine in 2024 — 587 women, the same 2 grams per day dose, six months of follow-up — found no preventive benefit at all: 51% of the D-mannose group still contacted a doctor about a suspected UTI, versus 56% on placebo, a difference that was not statistically significant. The UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Research flagged this plainly in a February 2025 evidence alert titled, without hedging, “D-mannose does not prevent urinary tract infections.”23 Whichever trial you find more persuasive, the dose that mattered in both was 2,000 mg of D-mannose alone — a figure the Cystex liquid’s 800 mg four-ingredient blend cannot reach even if it were pure D-mannose, which it is not.

The pain relief tablets: a different product, and a different conversation

Cystex Urinary Pain Relief is methenamine 162 mg plus sodium salicylate 162.5 mg, two tablets three times daily, for no more than three days without a doctor.6 That is 975 mg of salicylate a day — aspirin’s chemical family — and the label carries the expected warnings: stomach bleeding risk, elevated over 60 or with a history of ulcers; avoid if allergic to aspirin or salicylates; not in the last three months of pregnancy.6 Drug references add interaction cautions with diuretics, gout and diabetes medicines, and warfarin.8

Two things about this SKU belong in the body text, not a footnote. First, its FDA marketing category is “unapproved drug other,” and the label says the drug “has not been found by FDA to be safe and effective, and this labeling has not been approved by FDA.”7 That is a legacy status shared by plenty of long-sold OTC combinations, not an accusation of harm — but a buyer paying for an antibacterial component is entitled to know it has never been through an efficacy review.

Second, the good evidence for methenamine does not belong to this product. The ALTAR trial randomised 240 women with recurrent UTI to twelve months of low-dose antibiotic prophylaxis or methenamine hippurate twice daily, finding 1.38 episodes per person-year versus 0.89 on antibiotics — a difference of 0.49 (90% CI 0.15 to 0.84), inside the pre-set non-inferiority margin.16 Hence AUA Statement 15: “Clinicians may offer methenamine hippurate for prophylaxis for women with rUTIs” (Conditional Recommendation, Grade C).15 Different salt, different dose, twelve months of prevention rather than three days of pain relief. That result does not carry across.

Credit where due: Cystex does not pretend otherwise. Its Max Strength page states that “there is no OTC remedy for urinary tract infections (UTIs) or self-treatment for UTIs. They require prescription medication to completely cure the infection.”4 That is more candid than most of this shelf.

Price and availability

Prices as published on Walmart.com on 18 September 2026; they move.18

  • Cranberry Urinary Health Supplement, 75 caplets — $9.99. At two caplets daily, about 37 days, or roughly 27 cents a day.
  • Urinary Health Maintenance liquid, 7.6 fl oz — $8.71 (from $10.72). At one tablespoon daily that is about 15 doses, closer to 58 cents a day.
  • 3-in-1 Urinary Tract Health Probiotic, 30 capsules — $19.97, about 67 cents a day.
  • Dual-Action UTI Pain Relief, 48 count — $9.58. Max Strength (phenazopyridine), 24 count — $7.00. UTI test strips, 4 count — $9.97.

The liquid is also stocked at CVS.20 Distribution is the brand’s real advantage: no subscription, no shipping wait, no auto-renewal, and you can read the panel in your hand before you pay. For anyone burned by a direct-to-consumer order, that is not a small thing.

The manufacturer’s record

Cystex is labelled by Clarion Brands, LLC of Feasterville-Trevose, Pennsylvania.7 The company holds an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, is not BBB-accredited, and the profile we reviewed listed no alerts and no government actions.10

One recall is on record. In January 2022 Ultra Seal Corporation — the packager, not Clarion — began a voluntary Class II recall of roughly 732,000 blisters of Cystex Urinary Pain Relief tablets nationwide for “cGMP deviations”; the FDA record shows it terminated in October 2023.9 Class II means reversible or temporary consequences were possible, and a packaging recall is not a claim about the formula.

Beyond that we looked for FDA warning letters, FTC enforcement and consumer class actions naming Clarion Brands or Cystex and found none; we are not implying a problem the record does not show. Equally, we found no published clinical trial of any Cystex-branded formula and no clinical study references on Cystex’s own brand pages.5 The cranberry evidence here is borrowed category evidence.

Who Cystex suits, and who should look elsewhere

Cystex is a sensible buy if you want to try cranberry prophylaxis cheaply and without commitment; you want something you can pick up tonight; or you want short-term OTC pain cover while waiting for an appointment, having read the salicylate warnings and understood it does not cure the infection.

Look elsewhere if you want to match a trial dose. If your goal is 36 mg or more of PACs daily by the DMAC assay, buy a product that prints that number and the method. Cystex does not — and nor, to be straight with you, does FemiCore, the supplement this site earns commission on: it publishes no ingredient dosages, no serving size and no capsule count anywhere on its official pages, so its per-day cost cannot be calculated either.21 Our FemiCore ingredients breakdown sets that out in full. On dose transparency, neither earns marks.

They also target different problems. Cystex is built around UTI defence. If your issue is urgency, frequency and leaking rather than infection, cranberry is not the lever — our bladder symptom checker will point you to the right article, and urgency versus stress incontinence is where to start on leak type. Supplements versus a prescription is covered here.

Frequently asked questions

Does Cystex cure a UTI?

No. Cystex’s own website states there is no OTC remedy or self-treatment for a UTI and that these infections require prescription medication to cure. The pain relief tablets address symptoms for up to three days; the cranberry products are sold for prevention, not treatment.

How much PAC is in Cystex cranberry products?

Cystex does not disclose it. We checked the brand’s product pages and the Walmart and CVS listings and found no proanthocyanidin figure on any panel. The caplets list 500 mg cranberry fruit and the liquid an 800 mg proprietary blend, but neither states a PAC content or assay method.

Is 500 mg of cranberry enough to prevent UTIs?

Possibly — it depends entirely on the material. A 2024 meta-analysis found benefit only at 36 mg or more of PACs daily, with no significant effect below. But a 2025 randomised trial of 500 mg whole cranberry fruit powder containing under 10 mg PAC still cut culture-confirmed UTIs by 52%. Without a PAC figure on the Cystex label, there is no way to place it against either result.

Is Cystex Urinary Pain Relief FDA-approved?

No. Its FDA marketing category is “unapproved drug other,” and the label itself states the drug has not been found by FDA to be safe and effective and that the labeling has not been FDA-approved. That is a legacy status shared by other long-marketed OTC combinations, not a finding of harm, but it does mean the product has not passed an efficacy review.

Has Cystex ever been recalled?

Once in the FDA enforcement record. In January 2022 the packager Ultra Seal Corporation voluntarily recalled around 732,000 blisters of Cystex Urinary Pain Relief tablets for cGMP deviations; the Class II recall terminated in October 2023. We found no FDA warning letters, FTC actions or class actions naming Clarion Brands or Cystex.

If your problem is urgency and leaking rather than infection, cranberry is the wrong lever. FemiCore is formulated around bladder control rather than UTI defence — and like Cystex, it publishes no ingredient dosages, which we set out in full in our FemiCore review.

Check current pricing on the official site →

Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We have not used or tested this product.

Bottom line

Cystex is a cheap, widely available way to take cranberry, from a manufacturer with a clean-looking record and one terminated packaging recall. Cranberry prophylaxis has moderate-certainty Cochrane support and a “should offer” from the AUA. For a woman who wants to try it for under $10 without a subscription, that is a defensible choice.

Its weakness is transparency, not necessarily potency: no PAC figure, no assay method and a four-ingredient blend behind one number mean you are buying on brand rather than on dose. Check which Cystex you are holding — supplement, salicylate or phenazopyridine — before you swallow anything. And recurrent infections are a conversation for a clinician and a urine culture, not a shelf decision.

HerWellReport is reader-supported and the FemiCore link above is an affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We have not tested or used this product. Prices are as published at the time of writing and change without notice. This article is general information and not medical advice; speak to a clinician about your own symptoms.

More from HerWellReport

Sources

  1. Cystex — Cranberry Supplement: Proactive UTI Defense (supplement facts panel). Accessed 18 September 2026.
  2. Cystex — Cranberry Prebiotic: Urinary Health Maintenance (supplement facts panel). Accessed 18 September 2026.
  3. Cystex — Urinary Probiotic: Urinary & Vaginal Health (supplement facts panel). Accessed 18 September 2026.
  4. Cystex — Max Strength UTI Pain Relief (phenazopyridine hydrochloride 99.5 mg; brand statement on OTC treatment of UTIs). Accessed 18 September 2026.
  5. Cystex — Why Cystex, and cystex.com product line-up. Accessed 18 September 2026.
  6. DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine) — CYSTEX — methenamine, sodium salicylate tablet: Drug Facts label, active ingredients, warnings and directions.
  7. DailyMed — CYSTEX PLUS — methenamine, sodium salicylate tablet, Clarion Brands, LLC: product data elements showing marketing category “unapproved drug other,” NDC 69693-512, marketing start date 1 November 2015. Also DailyMed SPL index for labeler Clarion Brands (six Cystex labels including CYSTEX PM).
  8. Drugs.com — Cystex Urinary Pain Relief: uses, side effects and warnings.
  9. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, openFDA drug enforcement database — recall D-0471-2022: Class II, recalling firm Ultra Seal Corporation, product distributed by Clarion Brands LLC, reason “cGMP deviations,” initiated 24 January 2022, status terminated.
  10. Better Business Bureau — Clarion Brands, LLC business profile (A+ rating, not BBB accredited, no alerts or government actions listed). Accessed 18 September 2026.
  11. Williams G, Stothart CI, Hahn D, et al. Cranberries for preventing urinary tract infections. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2023. See also the Cochrane plain-language summary for the pooled and subgroup risk ratios quoted.
  12. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NIH) — Cranberry: what the science says (effect size, PAC mechanism, processing caveat, warfarin interaction, not a treatment for existing UTIs).
  13. Xia J, et al. Preventive effect of cranberries with high dose of proanthocyanidins on urinary tract infections: a meta-analysis and systematic review. Frontiers in Nutrition, 2024 (10 RCTs, 2,438 participants; ≥36 mg PAC/day RR 0.82, 95% CI 0.69–0.98; DMAC/procyanidin A2 assay).
  14. Howell AB, Botto H, Combescure C, et al. Dosage effect on uropathogenic Escherichia coli anti-adhesion activity in urine following consumption of cranberry powder standardized for proanthocyanidin content. BMC Infectious Diseases, 2010 (18, 36 and 72 mg PAC doses).
  15. American Urological Association / CUA / SUFU — Recurrent Uncomplicated Urinary Tract Infections in Women: AUA/CUA/SUFU Guideline (2025), statements 13 (cranberry), 14 (D-mannose) and 15 (methenamine hippurate). Full text: unabridged PDF.
  16. Harding C, Chadwick T, Homer T, et al. Methenamine hippurate compared with antibiotic prophylaxis to prevent recurrent urinary tract infections in women: the ALTAR non-inferiority RCT. NIHR Health Technology Assessment scientific summary, 2022.
  17. Sengupta K, et al. Whole cranberry fruit powder supplement reduces the incidence of culture-confirmed urinary tract infections in females with a history of recurrent urinary tract infection: a 6-month multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2025 (500 mg/day whole cranberry powder, >1.5% PAC; adjusted RR 0.48, 95% CI 0.26–0.87; sponsor-funded).
  18. Walmart — Cystex brand page, prices as published 18 September 2026.
  19. Walmart — Cystex Urinary Health Maintenance, 7.6 fl oz product listing (price and ingredient description; no PAC figure listed). Accessed 18 September 2026.
  20. CVS Pharmacy — Cystex Urinary Health Complex Liquid Cranberry, 7.6 oz (“proprietary Proantinox formula (patent pending)”; no PAC quantity stated). Accessed 18 September 2026.
  21. HerWellReport — FemiCore ingredients: what is in it and what is not disclosed, documenting that no per-ingredient dosages, serving size or capsule count are published on FemiCore’s official pages.
  22. Kranjčec B, Papeš D, Altšuler D. “D-mannose powder for prophylaxis of recurrent urinary tract infections in women: a randomized clinical trial.” World Journal of Urology, 2014. PubMed PMID 23633128.
  23. NIHR Evidence — D-mannose does not prevent urinary tract infections (UTIs), February 2025, summarising a 587-woman randomised trial published in JAMA Internal Medicine, 2024.