HerWellReport Independent Women’s Health Research

Menopause

MenoRescue Ingredients: The Full List, Doses, and Interactions

Overhead still life of dried red schisandra berries in a speckled ceramic bowl, black peppercorns on a wooden spoon, dried chasteberry sprigs and a single sage leaf on a pale stone surface beside a fold of linen.

This site is reader-supported. If you buy through a link on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. We have not used or tested MenoRescue. Everything below is taken from the product label as published by the manufacturer and checked against the research, which is referenced at the bottom of the page.

MenoRescue, made by WellMe, contains nine botanical ingredients arranged in two proprietary blends. Three of them carry a stated dose. Six do not. That single fact shapes everything else on this page, so it is worth saying plainly up front: for two thirds of this formula, you cannot check the amount you are getting against the amount used in any study.

Below is the complete list as printed on the label, what each ingredient has actually been trialled for, and the documented interactions. One of them — the last on the list, and the one nobody discusses — is a pharmacokinetic interaction that affects prescription medication directly.

The label, as printed

IngredientStated doseBlend
Sensoril ashwagandha125 mgHormone Support
Greenselect Phytosome green tea extractNot disclosedHormone Support
Rhodiola roseaNot disclosedHormone Support
Schisandra berryNot disclosedHormone Support
Sage leaf300 mgHormone Booster
Red clover80 mgHormone Booster
Black cohoshNot disclosedHormone Booster
ChasteberryNot disclosedHormone Booster
BioPerine black pepper extractNot disclosedHormone Booster

Ingredient by ingredient

Sensoril ashwagandha — 125 mg

Full evidence entry for ashwagandha → (grade, interactions, primary source)

The formula’s headline ingredient and the only one with a dose that matches published trials — Sensoril is a branded ashwagandha extract usually studied at 125 to 250 mg. What it has been trialled for, though, is stress and sleep, not menopause. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements describes the evidence as limited, with small studies and inconsistent results.2 There is no trial of ashwagandha for hot flushes at this dose that would let anyone claim symptom relief.

Safety: ODS notes case reports of liver injury, some severe, in people taking ashwagandha products. It is not considered safe in pregnancy. It may raise thyroid hormone levels, which matters if you take levothyroxine or have a thyroid condition, and it may add to the effect of sedatives.2

Greenselect Phytosome green tea extract — dose not disclosed

Full evidence entry for green tea → (grade, interactions, primary source)

A concentrated, decaffeinated green tea catechin extract in a phospholipid carrier designed to increase absorption. Its research base is in weight management, not menopause.

Safety: this is the ingredient where the undisclosed dose matters most. Concentrated green tea catechin extracts carry a documented liver injury signal that brewed green tea does not; NCCIH states that liver problems have been reported in people taking green tea extracts, and advises taking them with food.6 A phytosome formulation is designed specifically to push more catechin into the bloodstream. Without a stated milligram figure, there is no way for you or your pharmacist to judge where this sits.

Rhodiola rosea — dose not disclosed

Full evidence entry for rhodiola → (grade, interactions, primary source)

An adaptogen studied for fatigue and stress. NCCIH’s assessment is that the studies are small, short and of low quality, and that there is not enough evidence to say whether it helps anything.5 Nothing links it to menopausal symptoms specifically. It is generally well tolerated.

Schisandra berry — dose not disclosed

Traditionally used as an adaptogen; the menopause evidence is thin to non-existent. Its significance in this formula is pharmacological rather than therapeutic.

Safety: schisandra affects CYP3A4, one of the main enzymes the liver uses to clear medication. In a controlled study in healthy volunteers, schisandra extract substantially increased blood levels of tacrolimus, an immunosuppressant with a narrow safety margin.10 If you take a drug where the dose is finely balanced — transplant medication, certain heart drugs, some anti-epileptics — this is a conversation to have with a pharmacist before you start, not after.

Sage leaf — 300 mg

Full evidence entry for sage → (grade, interactions, primary source)

Sage has the most directly relevant trial in the whole formula. Bommer and colleagues gave a sage preparation to menopausal women and reported a large reduction in hot flushes over eight weeks.8 The honest caveat is the study design: it was open-label with no control group, so every woman knew she was taking sage and there was nothing to compare against. Hot flush trials routinely show placebo responses in the 20 to 50 per cent range, which a single-arm study cannot separate out.

Safety: some sage preparations contain thujone, which is why sage is generally avoided in epilepsy and in pregnancy and breastfeeding. The label does not state which sage preparation is used.

Red clover — 80 mg

Full evidence entry for red clover → (grade, interactions, primary source)

A source of isoflavones, which are plant compounds with weak oestrogen-like activity. NCCIH’s read is that studies of red clover for hot flushes have had inconsistent results and that the evidence does not establish a benefit.4

Safety: because the isoflavones are oestrogenic, red clover is generally avoided by women with hormone-sensitive conditions, including a history of breast cancer, and by anyone taking tamoxifen or an aromatase inhibitor, without a doctor’s sign-off. NCCIH also notes it has not been established as safe in pregnancy or breastfeeding.4

Black cohosh — dose not disclosed

Full evidence entry for black cohosh → (grade, interactions, primary source)

The most-studied botanical for menopausal symptoms, and still unresolved. NCCIH describes the results of studies on hot flushes as mixed, with several well-conducted trials finding no benefit over placebo.3

Safety: NCCIH records reports of liver damage in people taking black cohosh, and although a causal link has not been established, it advises anyone with liver disease to be cautious and anyone who develops symptoms of liver trouble to stop.3 Note that this formula pairs black cohosh with two other ingredients carrying liver signals — ashwagandha and concentrated green tea extract. No study has looked at what happens when the three are taken together.

Chasteberry — dose not disclosed

Full evidence entry for chasteberry → (grade, interactions, primary source)

Also called Vitex agnus-castus. It has a genuine research history, but mostly in premenstrual syndrome rather than menopause; the menopause work, including van Die and colleagues, is limited and mixed.9

Safety: chasteberry acts on dopamine pathways, so it is generally avoided alongside dopamine agonists and antagonists — which includes some Parkinson’s medication and several antipsychotics — and its hormonal activity means it may not sit well with hormonal contraception or HRT.

BioPerine black pepper extract — dose not disclosed

This is the ingredient that gets skipped in every review of this product, and it is arguably the one that matters most if you take prescription medication.

BioPerine is a standardised piperine extract. It is in the formula for one reason: piperine increases how much of the other ingredients reach your bloodstream. It does that by inhibiting P-glycoprotein and CYP3A4 — a transporter and an enzyme that your body also uses to limit and clear a very large share of prescription drugs. This is not a theoretical concern extrapolated from a test tube; it was demonstrated in humans.11

The practical consequence is simple and rarely stated: an ingredient that raises absorption does not politely limit itself to the herbs in the capsule. If you take medication metabolised through CYP3A4 — and that includes many statins, some blood pressure drugs, certain anticoagulants, several antidepressants and most immunosuppressants — piperine can raise your exposure to it. Combined with the schisandra in the same product, this formula contains two separate CYP3A4-active ingredients.

The dose problem, stated plainly

Six of the nine ingredients have no disclosed amount. Proprietary blends are legal and common, and manufacturers defend them as protecting a formula from being copied. The practical effect for a buyer is this:

  • You cannot check any of the six against the dose used in the studies that are cited to sell them.
  • Your pharmacist cannot assess the interaction risk properly, because interaction risk is dose-dependent.
  • A blend can be technically accurate and still be almost entirely one cheap ingredient.

This is not unique to MenoRescue — it is the norm in this category, and we say the same about FemiCore’s ingredient list, which discloses nothing at all. But it is the single biggest reason no honest reviewer can tell you whether this product will work for you.

Interactions worth checking before you order

Take this list to a pharmacist rather than working it out yourself. It is free, it takes five minutes, and it is the step most people skip.

  • Anything with a narrow therapeutic window — transplant immunosuppressants, some anti-epileptics, certain heart drugs. Schisandra and piperine both act on CYP3A4.
  • Thyroid medication — ashwagandha may raise thyroid hormone levels.
  • Tamoxifen, aromatase inhibitors, or a history of hormone-sensitive cancer — red clover isoflavones are oestrogenic.
  • Sedatives and sleep medication — ashwagandha may add to their effect.
  • Parkinson’s medication and antipsychotics — chasteberry acts on dopamine pathways.
  • Existing liver disease, or any medication that stresses the liver — three ingredients here carry liver signals.
  • Pregnancy and breastfeeding — several of these are not established as safe, and this product is not intended for that use anyway.

What this formula is, honestly

It is a reasonable-looking collection of botanicals with a real absorption enhancer, built around a cortisol theory of menopause symptoms that the cortisol research does not actually support. Two ingredients — sage and black cohosh — have menopause-specific trial history, and both are weaker than the marketing implies. The rest are adaptogens studied for stress.

No trial of the finished formula exists, so nobody — including WellMe — knows what these nine ingredients do together at these amounts. The Menopause Society’s 2023 position statement on non-hormone treatments recommends against herbal supplements for hot flushes as a category, on the basis that the evidence does not support them.12 That is the backdrop any product in this space is sold against, and it is worth knowing before you spend anything.

What genuinely does change the calculation is the return policy. WellMe offers 180 days and states the refund applies even on empty bottles. There is a detail worth knowing: orders are processed by ClickBank, whose own self-service refund window is sixty days — inside that you can refund the order yourself in minutes, and after it you are relying on WellMe’s own policy and have to contact them directly. We break that down in the MenoRescue pricing page. None of it makes the evidence stronger. It does mean the money you risk is recoverable if you act inside the easy window — so if you try it, put the sixty-day date in your calendar the day it arrives.

If you have read the interactions above and want to look at it: MenoRescue is sold only through WellMe’s own site, at $59, $49 or $39 per bottle depending on the pack, with a 180-day guarantee. Our full assessment is in the MenoRescue review, and the evidence question is picked apart in Does MenoRescue Work?

Check current pricing on the official site →

Affiliate link — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We have not used or tested this product.

Related reading

Sources

  1. WellMe — MenoRescue official website: ingredient list, stated doses, pricing and guarantee terms. menorescue.com (accessed September 2026)
  2. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Ashwagandha fact sheet for health professionals. ods.od.nih.gov
  3. NCCIH — Black Cohosh: usefulness and safety. nccih.nih.gov
  4. NCCIH — Red Clover: usefulness and safety. nccih.nih.gov
  5. NCCIH — Rhodiola: usefulness and safety. nccih.nih.gov
  6. NCCIH — Green Tea: usefulness and safety, including liver injury reports with concentrated extracts. nccih.nih.gov
  7. Bommer S, Klein P, Suter A. First time proof of sage’s tolerability and efficacy in menopausal women with hot flushes. Advances in Therapy, 2011. link.springer.com — open-label, no control group
  8. van Die MD, Burger HG, Bone KM, Cohen MM, Teede HJ. Vitex agnus-castus in the treatment of menopause-related complaints. Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 2009. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  9. Xin HW et al. Effects of Schisandra sphenanthera extract on the pharmacokinetics of tacrolimus in healthy volunteers. British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, 2007. bpspubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com
  10. Bhardwaj RK et al. Piperine, a major constituent of black pepper, inhibits human P-glycoprotein and CYP3A4. Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, 2002. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  11. The Menopause Society (NAMS) — 2023 Nonhormone Therapy Position Statement. menopause.org