HerWellReport Independent Women’s Health Research

Menopause

MenoRescue vs Estroven: Ingredients, Doses, Price and Guarantee Compared

Overhead still life on linen of dried sage leaves, red clover flower heads and a small ceramic dish of dried chopped root in soft window light.

This site is reader-supported. If you buy through a link on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. We have not used or tested either product. Every figure below comes from the manufacturers’ published labels and pages or from the studies referenced at the bottom of the page. This is not medical advice — see our affiliate disclosure and medical disclaimer.

MenoRescue and Estroven get compared a lot, usually by pages that have already decided which one to sell you. This one lays the two labels side by side, says what has actually been trialled, works out the real cost per month, and explains what happens to your money if you want it back. They are different formulas built for different priorities, and the honest answer to “which is better” depends on what you are buying for.

Quick answer: who each one suits

  • Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom is a single-ingredient product: 4 mg of a rhapontic rhubarb root extract (ERr 731) in one caplet a day.2 That extract has a randomised, placebo-controlled trial behind it,4 it is sold in pharmacies and supermarkets, and it costs roughly $15 to $21 a month at the maker’s own prices.1 It suits someone who wants one well-trialled ingredient, wants to buy it locally, and is happy with a standard 30-day retail return window.
  • MenoRescue is a nine-ingredient, two-blend formula from WellMe: ashwagandha, green tea extract, rhodiola, schisandra, sage, red clover, black cohosh, chasteberry and a black pepper absorption enhancer.6 It is sold online only, costs $39 to $59 a bottle plus shipping on smaller packs, and carries a 180-day seller guarantee. It suits someone who specifically wants a multi-herb, adaptogen-led blend and values a long refund window more than a short ingredient list.

Before either: hormone therapy has the strongest evidence for hot flushes by a wide margin, and no supplement — including these two — comes close. The Menopause Society’s 2023 non-hormone position statement lists supplements and herbal remedies among the options it does not recommend for hot flushes.14 Our ranking of what actually works for hot flushes sets out the full picture. (Short on time? Skip to which one fits you.)

Side by side

MenoRescue (WellMe)Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom
Ingredients9 botanicals in two proprietary blends61: rhapontic rhubarb root extract, ERr 7312
Disclosed doses3 of 9: Sensoril ashwagandha 125 mg, sage 300 mg, red clover 80 mgFull: 4 mg extract (2.2 mg rhaponticin, 1 mg desoxyrhaponticin)
Serving2 capsules daily; 60 per bottle (30 days)1 caplet daily; 28 or 60 per box
Trial of the exact productNone publishedYes — one 12-week RCT of ERr 731 (109 women) plus long-term follow-up45
Evidence grade (best ingredient)Limited (sage: open-label trial only; black cohosh: mixed)Limited-to-moderate (one placebo-controlled RCT, single extract)
Price per month, at time of writingAbout $64 (2-pack), $52 (3-pack) or $39 (6-pack), US shipping includedAbout $21 (28-count) or $15 (60-count) at estroven.com1
Guarantee / returns180 days from the seller; first 60 days self-service via ClickBank730 days from receipt, direct purchases only; retailers set their own3
Where soldOfficial site only (ClickBank checkout)Official site plus pharmacies, supermarkets and online retailers

Ingredient evidence: Estroven’s ERr 731

The Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom label lists one active: rhapontic rhubarb root extract (Rheum rhaponticum), 4 mg per caplet, standardised to 2.2 mg rhaponticin and 1 mg desoxyrhaponticin. Everything else on the panel is filler and coating.2 This is the extract known in the literature as ERr 731.

The key study is Heger and colleagues, published in Menopause in 2006: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial of 109 perimenopausal women taking one enteric-coated ERr 731 tablet or placebo daily for 12 weeks. The Menopause Rating Scale II total score and every individual symptom fell significantly more in the ERr 731 group than on placebo, and the number and severity of hot flushes were lower from week four. No adverse events were classed as related to the extract, and endometrial biopsies and other safety measures did not differ between groups.4 A follow-up observational study carried women from that trial through 48 and then 96 weeks and reported continued improvement and no safety signal, though without a placebo arm the later phases cannot separate the extract from time and expectation.5

HerWellReport Evidence Grade: limited-to-moderate. A placebo-controlled trial of the exact extract at the exact dose sold is more than most menopause supplements can offer. It is also one trial of 109 women, and the “up to 90 per cent reduction” on the Estroven site is the maker’s framing of a 12-week result.1 We would want independent replication before calling the evidence strong.

Ingredient evidence: MenoRescue’s nine

MenoRescue’s label is two proprietary blends. The Hormone Support Blend holds Sensoril ashwagandha (125 mg), Greenselect Phytosome green tea extract, rhodiola and schisandra; the Hormone Booster Blend holds sage (300 mg), red clover (80 mg), black cohosh, chasteberry and BioPerine. Six of the nine have no stated amount.6 Our MenoRescue ingredient breakdown goes through each in full; the short version by evidence grade:

  • Sage — very limited for hot flushes. The most relevant trial, Bommer 2011, gave 71 menopausal women a sage preparation for eight weeks and reported a 64 per cent fall in a hot-flush score. It was open-label with no control group, so it cannot separate the herb from the placebo response that hot-flush trials routinely show.12
  • Black cohosh — limited and mixed. NCCIH’s summary is that products containing black cohosh extracts may be beneficial for overall menopause symptoms, with results across trials inconsistent.9 The dose here is not disclosed.
  • Red clover — limited. NCCIH: studies on red clover for hot flushes have had inconsistent results, some at high risk of bias.11
  • Ashwagandha — limited, and for stress rather than menopause. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements describes the studies as fairly small and short, using varied preparations and doses.8
  • Rhodiola, schisandra, chasteberry — early to very limited for menopausal symptoms specifically.
  • Green tea extract — background. Its research base is weight management; it has no menopause trial to lean on.10
  • BioPerine — none as a symptom treatment. It is there to increase absorption of the other ingredients (see safety, below).

There is no published trial of the finished MenoRescue formula, so it is sold on the individual ingredient literature above, most of which is weaker than the marketing suggests. Our full ingredient dataset grades all of these alongside 50-plus others.

Safety and interactions

Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom

Within the trial data, ERr 731 looked clean: no extract-related adverse events over 12 weeks and no endometrial or laboratory changes, with the long-term follow-up reporting the same.45 That is reassuring but it rests on around a hundred women, which is far too few to detect rare events. The label says not to take it if pregnant, breastfeeding or intending to become pregnant,2 and Estroven’s own FAQ recommends checking with a healthcare professional before combining it with medication or other supplements.1 The product is marketed as hormone-free; note that the trial investigators took endometrial biopsies to check for a hormonal effect on the womb lining,4 so if you have a hormone-sensitive condition, whether it is appropriate is a question for your doctor, not for a supplement label.

MenoRescue

Nine ingredients means nine interaction profiles, and three of them carry documented liver signals. NCCIH records cases of liver damage, some serious, in people taking products labelled as black cohosh;9 the NIH ODS fact sheet on ashwagandha describes case reports of liver injury at daily doses from 450 mg;8 and NCCIH notes uncommon but real reports of liver injury with green tea extracts in capsule form.10 No study has looked at the three together.

The interaction most reviews skip is BioPerine. Piperine inhibits CYP3A4 and P-glycoprotein, an enzyme and a transporter your body uses to clear a large share of prescription drugs; Bhardwaj and colleagues showed this in human liver and intestinal cell models and concluded that dietary piperine could raise plasma concentrations of drugs that depend on those pathways.13 If you take a statin, certain blood-pressure or heart drugs, some antidepressants or any immunosuppressant, an absorption enhancer does not limit itself to the herbs in the capsule. Add ashwagandha’s possible effect on thyroid hormones,8 red clover’s oestrogenic isoflavones (a caution for anyone with a hormone-sensitive history)11 and undisclosed doses for six of nine ingredients, and this is a formula to take to a pharmacist before you order rather than after.

Neither product is “side-effect free”. The practical difference is that Estroven asks you to assess one ingredient and MenoRescue asks you to assess nine.

Cost per month, honestly

Headline prices hide serving size and shipping. Here is the arithmetic at prices observed at time of writing.

Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom: one caplet a day. On estroven.com the 28-count box is $19.99 (about $21 a month) and the 60-count is $29.99, which lasts two months (about $15 a month). Subscribe-and-save orders ship free; standard shipping is not stated on the product page, so check at checkout.1

MenoRescue: two capsules a day, 60 per bottle, so one bottle is one month. The two-bottle pack is $59 a bottle plus $9.95 US shipping, which works out at about $64 a month. The three-bottle pack is $49 a bottle plus $9.95 shipping, about $52 a month. The six-bottle pack is $39 a bottle with free shipping, $39 a month. International shipping is $19.95 on the smaller packs.6 Full pack-by-pack detail is in our MenoRescue price guide.

At the packs most first-time buyers choose, MenoRescue costs roughly three to four times as much per month as Estroven. That gap is only worth paying if you specifically want what the nine-ingredient blend offers.

Guarantee vs return policy: the 60-day detail

Estroven offers a 30-day return window from receipt on purchases made directly at estroven.com. You email or phone, they may ask you to return the product and will provide a digital label, and refunds take five to seven business days. The policy states that the company reserves the right to approve or deny returns, and it does not cover purchases from other retailers — if you buy at a pharmacy or supermarket, that store’s returns policy applies.3

MenoRescue advertises a 180-day “empty bottle” guarantee: a full refund even if every bottle is used.6 That is a far longer window than Estroven’s, but there is a mechanical detail worth knowing. MenoRescue orders go through ClickBank, and ClickBank’s own help centre says most products have a refund period of sixty days during which you can request the refund yourself through order lookup at clkbank.com. After that window, “the refund request option will not be displayed” and you must contact the seller directly using the details on your order.7 In practice: of MenoRescue’s 180 days, the first 60 are enforceable by you without the seller’s involvement; days 61 to 180 depend on WellMe honouring its own policy when you email.

If you try MenoRescue, put the 60-day date in your calendar when the parcel arrives; for Estroven bought direct, the same applies at 30 days.

Which one if…

  • …you want the single best-trialled ingredient at the lowest cost: Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom. One placebo-controlled trial of the exact extract, one ingredient to check with your pharmacist, about $15 to $21 a month.
  • …you want to pick it up today from a shop: Estroven. MenoRescue is online-only.
  • …you specifically want a multi-herb, adaptogen-led blend (ashwagandha, rhodiola, schisandra alongside sage, black cohosh and red clover) and you have checked the interactions: MenoRescue is that formula. Be aware the evidence for the blend as a whole does not exist yet.
  • …the refund window is your deciding factor: MenoRescue’s 180 days beats Estroven’s 30, with the caveat that only the first 60 are self-service.
  • …you take prescription medication metabolised by CYP3A4, have liver disease, or a hormone-sensitive history: talk to a pharmacist or doctor before either, and be especially cautious with the nine-ingredient formula.
  • …your hot flushes are severe: neither. Speak to a clinician about hormone therapy or the prescription non-hormone options with strong evidence.14

For how both compare with everything else on the shelf, see our guide to what is actually in the best-selling menopause supplements.

If the multi-herb blend and the longer guarantee are what you are after: MenoRescue is sold only through WellMe’s own site, at $59, $49 or $39 per bottle depending on the pack, with a 180-day guarantee. Our full assessment — including what we would want to see before recommending it — is in the MenoRescue review.

Read the full MenoRescue review →

The review contains affiliate links — we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We have not used or tested this product.

FAQ

Is Estroven or MenoRescue better for hot flushes?

Neither has been tested against the other, so no honest answer exists. Estroven’s single ingredient has a placebo-controlled trial showing fewer and milder hot flushes than placebo over 12 weeks.4 MenoRescue’s most relevant ingredient, sage, has only an uncontrolled trial.12 Hormone therapy remains far ahead of both.

Which Estroven product is this comparison based on?

Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom caplets, the 4 mg ERr 731 product.2 Estroven sells several other variants (a version with added ashwagandha, Sleep Cool, Weight Management and others) with different formulas; the figures here do not apply to those.

Does MenoRescue’s 180-day guarantee really work?

We have no reason to doubt the seller’s stated policy, but we have not tested it. What we can say from ClickBank’s documentation is that the first 60 days are self-service through order lookup and the remaining 120 require contacting WellMe directly.7

This article is for information only and is not medical advice. Prices, pack sizes and policies were checked in September 2026 and may change; confirm on the seller’s site before ordering. See our medical disclaimer.

More from HerWellReport

Sources

  1. Estroven — Complete Multi-Symptom Menopause Relief product page: directions, pack sizes, pricing, claims and footnotes, FAQ. estroven.com (accessed September 2026)
  2. Estroven Complete Multi-Symptom Menopause Relief, 60 caplets — Supplement Facts panel and warnings as reproduced on the iHerb product listing. iherb.com (accessed September 2026)
  3. Estroven — Refund and Return Policy. estroven.com (accessed September 2026)
  4. Heger M, et al. Efficacy and safety of a special extract of Rheum rhaponticum (ERr 731) in perimenopausal women with climacteric complaints: a 12-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Menopause, 2006. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Hasper I, et al. Long-term efficacy and safety of the special extract ERr 731 of Rheum rhaponticum in perimenopausal women with menopausal symptoms. Menopause, 2009. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov — observational follow-up, no placebo arm
  6. WellMe — MenoRescue official website: ingredient list, stated doses, serving size, pricing, shipping and guarantee terms. menorescue.com (accessed September 2026)
  7. ClickBank Support — How do I get a refund for a ClickBank product I have purchased? (sixty-day refund period; contact the seller after it has passed). support.clickbank.com
  8. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Ashwagandha fact sheet for health professionals. ods.od.nih.gov
  9. NCCIH — Black Cohosh: usefulness and safety. nccih.nih.gov
  10. NCCIH — Green Tea: usefulness and safety, including liver injury reports with extracts. nccih.nih.gov
  11. NCCIH — Red Clover: usefulness and safety. nccih.nih.gov
  12. Bommer S, Klein P, Suter A. First time proof of sage’s tolerability and efficacy in menopausal women with hot flushes. Advances in Therapy, 2011. link.springer.com — open-label, no control group
  13. Bhardwaj RK, et al. Piperine, a major constituent of black pepper, inhibits human P-glycoprotein and CYP3A4. Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, 2002. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  14. The Menopause Society (NAMS) — 2023 Nonhormone Therapy Position Statement, press release listing recommended and not-recommended options. menopause.org